Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry University of Oxford

Our work has been recognised by the Equality Challenge Unit and the Department has held the Silver Athena SWAN award since September 2015.  Our Silver Athena SWAN application and action plan can be found here.

The Athena SWAN (Scientific Women’s Academic Network) Charter was established in 2005 by the Equality Challenge Unit to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research. 

In 2015 the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law, and in professional and support roles. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

Addressing the gender imbalance in academic roles

In line with the goals of the Athena SWAN programme, the Department of Chemistry continues to make great progress in addressing gender imbalances at all levels of academic appointment: Professor Dame Carol Robinson, DBE, FRS is our first female statutory Chair;  We have a record ten female permanent academic staff (up from 3, ten years ago) seven of whom are full Professors. Three of the last five Associate Professor appointments have gone to outstanding women. In early career posts too, we are proud to have a record 5 female long-term Fellowship holders.