Department of Chemistry   University of Oxford

First European Prize for Organometallic Chemistry to Professor Malcolm L. H. Green, Oxford University, UK

The Division of Organometallic Chemistry (DOM) of the European Association of Chemical and Molecular Sciences (EuCheMS) has created the European Prize for Organometallic Chemistry, a monetary prize of €5000, to be awarded every two years ”for a single piece of outstanding work or for a body of outstanding work primarily done in Europe, including Turkey and Israel”.

The first to receive the prize is Malcolm L. H. Green, Emeritus Professor at Oxford University, UK for his outstanding contributions to the field of organometallic chemistry including pioneering studies of molybdenocene and tungstenocene systems, novel methods for molecular inorganic synthesis, for catalysis and for carbon materials as well as fundamental studies of alpha- and beta-hydrogen migratory insertions and C-H bond activations – the well-established term agostic interaction was conceived by Professor Green. For more information on the scientific achievements of the 2015 winner, see

The Prize ceremony and a lecture by the winner will take place at the 21st European Conference on Organometallic Chemistry in Bratislava (July 5-9 2015).

Jan Čermák Helena Grennberg
Chair, EuCheMS DOM vice chair, EuCheMS DOM

About this Site, Privacy and Accessibility. © Copyright 1995 - 2014 University of Oxford