Department of Chemistry   University of Oxford

Research Laboratories

Department of Chemistry

Chemistry research at Oxford is undertaken in three main buildings: The Chemical Research Laboratory, The Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory and The Physcial and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory.

The research interests are divided into the following sections or groups:

Inorganic Chemistry

Chemical Crystallography

Organic Chemistry

Chemical Biology

Physical & Theoretical Chemistry

Theoretical Chemistry Group

Please use this link to the individual members of academic research staff world wide web pages. Each page will contain a recent summary of their current research interests and then links to thier own further research information.

Academic supervisors are happy to discuss projects on an individual basis, and more general enquiries may be made to the Chairman of Chemistry.

The Department of Chemistry is one of the ten departments which make up the Mathematical and Physical Life Sciences Division (MPLS).


Her Majesty The Queen opened the new £60 million Chemistry Research Laboratory on 20th February 2004. View the photographs from the day.

Explore the "Virtual Tour of the CRL" which includes over 75 full-screen immersive panoramas.

This state of the art facility has five floors covering ~17,000 sq.m of laboratory and office space. The £60 million has been raised with grants from the JIF, Wolfson Foundation, EP Abraham Trust, Thomas Swan, the family of Landon T Clay, the Salters Company and a £20 million partnership with IP Group.


About this Site, Privacy and Accessibility. © Copyright 1995 - 2014 University of Oxford