Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry University of Oxford

Andrew Goodwin and Philipp Kukura honoured in Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists

Professors Andrew Goodwin and Philipp Kukura are among the winners of the Inaugural Blavatnik Awards for young scientists in the United Kingdom. The Awards, established by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and administered by the New York Academy of Sciences, honour and support exceptional early-career scientists and engineers and are the largest unrestricted cash prizes available exclusively to young scientists in the UK. A distinguished jury of leading senior scientists and engineers from throughout the UK selected the Laureates and Finalists.

Professor Andrew Goodwin has been named as the 2018 Chemistry Laureate. Professor Goodwin is a world leader in the study of the chemistry and physics of functional materials, which have unique magnetic, optical, and electrical properties. His work has revealed the role of structural disorder in these materials, and how this phenomenon can explain unique material properties such as negative thermal expansion, negative compressibility, and exotic magnetic states.

Professor Philipp Kukura has been named as a Chemistry Finalist. He is a physical chemist recognised for pioneering efforts in single-molecule scale microscopy and spectroscopy that enable the study of native, unlabelled molecules in real time. His particular focus is on biological macromolecules such as proteins as they interact with drugs or self-assemble with each other.

The Laureates and Finalists will be honoured at a gala dinner and ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on 7th March, 2018.